Showing posts with label Barcelona Match Preview. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Barcelona Match Preview. Show all posts

Feb 1, 2017

Barcelona Team News & Preview

Goal-line technology, or lack thereof, was the story of Barcelona’s last league outing where they lost ground on league leaders Real Madrid after a 1-1 draw at Real Betis. However, Barça are in a good run of form and lost only once in January in eight games. That loss, though, came against Athletic Bilbao in the first leg of the Copa del Rey quarter-finals. Luis Enrique’s side are the Liga top scorers with 52 goals, but six draws thus far have meant they trail Real Madrid by four points and a game in the title race. This game will be the fourth time this season Barça square off to Athletic, having already won twice and lost once. Lionel Messi and Luis Suárez have combined to score 31 of Barça’s 52 league goals this season. Sergio Busquets, Andrés Iniesta, and Lucas Digne are out injured, while the rest of the squad is available for selection to Enrique.

Dec 2, 2016

Andres Iniesta Scoring against Real Madrid

- Andres Iniesta Scoring against Real Madrid -

The greatest test of courage on earth is to bear defeat without losing heart.Robert Green Ingersoll

Barcelona is in a middle of a season defining crisis; may be I am exaggerating a bit. But for all those Barca fans who have seen their team play in recent weeks there may be no exaggeration. For a normal top club in Europe a couple of draw shall not ring any alarm bells; but we being Barca fans are used to be worrying at the first sign of distress; so when we see what we have seen at Anoeta last week - many of us would have already broken the bell. So come Saturday, when the biggest footballing clash in universe takes place; there are enough worries to get us extremely nervous. FC Barcelona has now drawn three out of their last four games and that usually doesn't happen. May be the circumstances of each of those draws were different but the worrying part is the unwanted streak which we have picked up.

Nov 22, 2016

Messi Celebrating against Celtic

- Messi and Barca Players celebrating against Celtic at Camp Nou -

Experience is simply the name we give our mistakes.Oscar Wilde

Celtic may feel they are hard done with the timing of this clash. After the 7-0 drubbing away at Camp Nou in the first match of the group, Celtic may have been hoping for a bit easier life when Barcelona football club comes visiting. But this could be quite tricky as Barca will be attempting to correct the slip ups they had both in La Liga and UEFA Champions League. It's all stacked up against Celtic at the moment - Barca had a drubbing at the hands of Manchester City in the last match in the Group; topping the group also will be a risk if they slip up against Celtic; the slip up in La Liga this weekend would demand a perfect answer from the Catalonia side; Messi who has scored in all matches in which he has played in Europe so far, who is the leading scorer in Champions League this season, he definitely wants to continue that start and he is also frustrated not to have played in the weekend; that means he is rested, so is Luis Saurez - the odds are stacked pretty badly against Celtic.

Nov 15, 2016

Messi Surrounded by Malaga Players

- Lionel Messi Dancing through Malaga Players -

Barcelona Futball Club would be looking to pile the pressure on Real Madrid and also Atletico Madrid when Malaga visits Camp Nou this Saturday. The clash between FC Barcelona and Malaga takes place four hours before the Madrid derby at Vicente Calderón stadium. A victory over Malaga will take Barca to the top of the League, may be temporarily; but it should put immense pressure on current league leaders who will be visiting the cross city rivals. Real Madrid who has not been exactly on fire should have enough to worry with their visit to Atlecto's stadium; we could just add to that with a good result against Malaga. As per the current La Liga odds FC Barcelona is favourite to defend their title amid not so great Home performances this season. This is mainly because other title contenders ain't igniting the stage on fire either.

Mar 11, 2016

It feels like a lifetime ago since Barcelona last tasted defeat in La Liga, with the 2-1 reverse at the Sanchez Pizjuan Stadium against Sevilla in October coming at a time when Luis Enrique’s side were experiencing a minor wobble. Lionel Messi was always likely to be a big miss for us when a knee injury ruled the 2015 Ballon d’Or winner out for two months, with Barcelona enduring a poor run of two defeats in three games; an unconvincing 2-1 victory at the Nou Camp against newly-promoted Las Palmas was sandwiched in between a heavy 4-1 loss at Celta Vigo and the defeat at Sevilla.

Feb 19, 2016

Know thy self, know thy enemy. A thousand battles, a thousand victories.Sun Tzu

Can't belive that Arsenal and Barcelona last met in the Champions League four seasons back. This clash has been a familiar fixture in those times with both of them meeting a season before also. A lot has changed in both clubs since then. Barca went in a steep diving curve for two seasons; a diving curve by Barca’s standard but a blip by others. In terms of Coaches Arsenal still have Wenger controlling the room whereas Barca changed thrice with Luis Enrique with the help of his players creating a attacking football revolution of sort. Compared to Barca, Arsenal's success were limited but last season they finally broke that curse and secured silverware. Something Arsene Wenger recently admitted as saved his job. As per the latest champions league betting tips, Barcelona is the firm favourite to proceed further from this round but the taste of success in last season makes Arsenal a daring opponent.

Dec 20, 2015

Luis Saurez unexpectedly found himself taking center stage at the Club World Cup in Japan. The absence of both Lionel Messi and Neymar leaves Luis Saurez leading the line at the Club World Cup. The availability of both Messi and Neymar for final on Sunday is still in doubt and that means Luis Saurez may have to alone lead the attack. The other strike options available currently in Barca Club World Cup squad doesn't inspire confidence. Both Munir and Sandro may have great futures ahead of them but lately they both, especially Munir has been specialising in missing open chances more than anything. Even without Messi and Neymar, Barcelona is still the favourite to win the title as per the form ('it's a bet based on the team's form')

Nov 19, 2015

  • FC Barcelona goes into the Away La Liga Clasico with a three point lead on top of the table.
  • Lionel Messi's availability is the most discussed topic building into this Clasico. Which is no Surprise!!!

Neymar and Saurez should be really angry! Or at least they have the right to be. In the absence of the "Best Player in the World", they have created a remarkable turn around in spectacular fashion. When we lost Messi to injury, we were still in top three, but that was due to others slipping. Without Messi Neymar and Saurez have taken the lead scoring spectacular goals; or better put they themselves have emerged partly out of Messi's shadows; I would say. So coming in to the Clasico; it should have been how the duo of Neymar and Saurez is going to take Real Madrid apart. Instead we are back to where we all start at the beginning of every Clasico - Messi's effect on the game. So almost all the discussion has been about whether Messi will be available to take on the arch-rival at the Santiago Bernebeu. The availability of Lionel Messi would swing the match in Barca's favour based on the latest football betting tips.

Jun 5, 2015

Don't think that this has happened ever before - Two Teams which will line-up in the UEFA Champions League Final are both in line to win a historic treble. But in the end only one team could emerge with the treble season done, surely hope that team is wearing the famous Blaugrana jersey. Even though Barca has been seeded as the away team, UEFA has given them the permission to line-up in their home jersey. We have a poor record as an away team at the UEFA Champions League finals - losing all three. Luckily neither do Juventus, they have been one of the under-performers when it comes to European cup finals. Interestingly enough, for both the teams this would be their eighth European Cup final appearance. Barca has a better record with four wins and three loses compared to Juventus five loses and two wins. Barca has a better advantage that in the later parts of the UEFA Champions League history, they have been the most successful team. Many pundits have described this function as a clash of the Juventus defense versus the Barcelona offence, which basically is a testimony for Barca's attacking powers as Juventus front line have been in top form in Champions League.

May 5, 2015

It is not in the stars to hold our destiny but in ourselves. William Shakespeare

Luis Enrique, the ex-Barca player and the current coach would definitely be a bit nervous coming going in to tomorrow's clash against Bayern Munich at the Camp Nou. With the full crowd support plus a team where the three strikers have not only gelled well, but also scoring tons for fun between them; usually that calls for a confident or may be an over-confident manager. But that won't be the case tomorrow. Luis Enrique will be nervous, regardless of the offensive powers on his arsenal - that's because he knows clearly that this clash will define his legacy as a manager at Barca. Barca currently is very much in fight for all the three available trophies this season, any coach who does that especially so late in the season is entitled to call it a successful stint; but Luis knows clearly that this tie is the match on which everything matters. He won't lose his job or credibility if he fails here; but he will know clearly that a failure here will see Guardiola's legacy hanging over his head like a Damocles sword for the rest of his Barca career. Succeed here, he would kick the legacy of Guardiola out of Barca, at least of his tenure and write his name with the golden ink.

Apr 15, 2015

All eyes will be on Paris tonight when FC BARCELONA takes on PARIS SAINT-GERMAIN FC at the Parc des Princes stadium. Without any doubt the Quarter-Final ties involving Spanish sides - FC Barcelona, Atletico Madrid and Real Madrid are the pick of the lot in this season's Quarter-Final line-up. This clash is also between two sides who are on top of their respective league table, funny enough they both reached there after a bit of struggle. The similarity in this season doesn't end there. Both their leagues are usually known to be strictly two horse legs but this season these two are the most keenly fought leagues in Europe. Spanish League has become a three horse race with all three Quarter-Final participants fighting for the coveted trophy. Meanwhile without any doubt French League is where we seeing the toughest battle with four teams separated from each other by a mere point. Funny enough, the so called "Best League in the World" has become a one horse race and don't have a single team in the late stages of Champions League or Europa League.

Mar 21, 2015

Barcelona Futbol Club, will definitely go in to tomorrow night's Clasico clash with Real Madrid with a definitive advantage. With a point lead at the top of the La Liga table, Barcelona doesn't have to chase this game where as Real Madrid would definitely love to go on top of the table following this match. With only ten matches left after this one in the League both team may have not much leverage left after this. Looking at the remaining fixture both teams have their share of tough matches after it. So any one emerging as a winner in this match will definitely be on the front foot to regain the La Liga title. The first Clasico was a big disappointment for Barca fans and team with the team being taken apart by the Los Blancos. But after the Winter break, the form of both the teams have changed drastically. Barca inspired by Messi is in a roll where as Real Madrid like his talisman Ronaldo is struggling a bit.

Feb 18, 2015

Complacency is my enemy. Trent Reznor

Why would I start this article with a quote on Complacency? Because there is no better way to start this discussion in any other way. The sense of confidence this Barca side has been able to instill on us in recent times have raised the belief in the team a lot higher. With such belief comes the danger of complacency. Especially when you are up against a team who could only win one of their last five matches, you are bound to be complacent. Add to this the form of the opposition. The new powerhouse from the city of Manchester has not been in top form in recent matches. Both Manchester City and Barcelona lie in the second position in their respective league. But the similarity start and end there. FC Barcelona has averted a mid-season crisis (which tend to happen in early January of every year) and clawed their way back into the La Liga title fight big time. Meanwhile Manchester City has seen their gap between them and league leaders Chelsea balooning to a whooping seven points. They are already out of FA Cup and League Cup. In such scenario it is natural to bet against Manchester City, but then this game is called the "Game of Glorious Uncertainty" for nothing. So reserve your FC Barcelona vs Manchester City Champions League Tickets today itself from our partner 1st4FootballTickets.

Nov 4, 2014

Every adversity, every failure, every heartache carries with it the seed on an equal or greater benefit. Napoleon Hill

All the Euphoria about Barca's excellent start to the season has suddenly fizzled out. The unbeaten start, the Goal Keeper who doesn't concede all those stories which regularly found themselves in the front pages have been replaced by a mid-season crisis story. And to an extent we are in a bit of a crisis. That crisis is not a result crisis but more or less an identity crisis. I can't remember when was the last time we found ourselves fourth in the La Liga table. I do remember instances of losing matches twice in a row but failure to score at home also is an event which is so far in memory. Doubts are suddenly creeping into our game, players and more importantly the fan. Everyone fear that this could all end up with that familiar feeling. With Quarter of the season done we suddenly are looking at a repeat of last season's issues. The only positive side from all this is that this is happening pretty early which should give Luis Enrique enough time to rectify, if he chooses to.

May 16, 2014

Fc Barcelona vs Atletico Madrid Preview

"One Game to Rule them All"

Finally it has come to this, just one game! That will decide the fate of La Liga. Who would have thought it would come to this? At the start of the season, it has only been a battle between Real Madrid and FC Barcelona like it always have been for all these years. Now at the end of the season, Real Madrid has been replaced by the other side of the capital. No one expected Ateltico to continue like this, they had to break down at some point. There was no way they could continue to play their brand of football till the end of the season; only problem was that someone forgot to tell that to them. Mean while, Barcelona's case was also similar but also different at the same time. No one expected them to be here, the league within their reach and one win away. Barca has time and again raised their hands to surrender, but was literally dragged back into the ring. How many times we all have thought to ourselves that it's all over, just to see the dream still intact the very next morning. It's that kind of season, and when it's over we all will be relieved.

Apr 11, 2014

When the season's calendar was drawn, a visit to Granada was one of the least interesting fixture. Now being sandwiched between the two clash between the Capital Giants, this looks a pretty interesting fixture now. This is Barcelona's chance to recover from the disappointment of the Champions League exit at the hands of Atletico Madrid. More importantly, it is the best way to prepare themselves for Wednesday's Copa Del Rey final against Real Madrid. Realistically speaking, this should be an easy away win ( Barca's Wiining odd is at 2/7 at sports betting at Betfair ). But a simple win may not do the job for Barca. We most probably would have to make a statement. A statement of intent which sends a message to the World and to our opponents, especially Real Madrid. With the Champions League exit it is time for us to concentrate on the two available trophies. That should ensure this as a successful season, but if we are not careful we may end up ruining everything. So the consolidation need to start tomorrow against Granada.

Apr 8, 2014

Amid all the breaking news and rumours and stories of conspiracy, it is easy for all of us to forget that there a decisive match to be played tomorrow which will decide FC Barcelona's fate in Europe this season. After that thrilling, not so favourable 1-1 draw at the Camp Nou; the stage is set for the 2nd edition of this epic battle, this time at the Vicente Calderon. In normal circumstances, in the build-up to such a big game nothing else would have dominated the news headlines. But then these are no ordinary times, these are times when the club's resolve is tested every day with a new issue at hand(some they themselves dig up). So this week it was all about the transfer ban that FIFA has imposed and the implication of it to Barca's chances next season. Now at least for 48 hours that discussion will adorn the back pages as there is battle to be won. When I say battle, I am not meaning it literally. Physically also this one will be one heck of a battle - with the atmosphere at the Vicente Calderon, the physical presence and style of the other team from Capital and more importantly the presence of Howard Webb, UEFA's pick for officiating the match. Going by Howard Webb's record, everyone is free to go for each other’s throat especially in the first half. Even if a player is murdered in the first Half, by Webb's rulebook it's not worthy of a booking; forget expulsion!

Mar 31, 2014

Battle of Spain will resume at the Camp Nou when FC Barcelona host Atletico Madrid in the first leg of the UEFA Champions League Quarter Final. This will be their fourth meeting since the start of the season. All the three previous meetings between the current leader and the defending champion of La Liga has all ended in draws. That, simply put how tough this tie is going to be for Barca, especially with the second leg at Vicente Calderon. There is no easy ties in this stage of the tournament, but Atletico Madrid presents a hell of a challenge for us. The only positive is that we don't have to do much travel, and that will help not only in the Champions League but also in the League.

Mar 22, 2014

Barca will play the second Clasico of the season tomorrow at the Santiago Bernebeu, knowing clearly that a loss there would put them out of the title race. Barca currently lies seven points behind the league leaders, Real Madrid. A lose will take that to seven points, something which could be impossible to compensate in a three horse race. A draw will not harm Barca much but then leave a lot to chances. In that scenario, anything other than a victory at the Bernebeu will be non-ideal for FC Barcelona. The strange thing is that even if we win, we could see ourselves still remaining in third depending on what happens in the Atletico vs Real Betis match. FC Barcelona could not have asked for a much better preparation going into the game. After the inconsistent start to 2014, Barca looks to have turned their form for the good with brilliant performance against Manchester City and Osasuna at home. Even though these two performances came at home, there is a belief that the team has regained his form and that the results should start showing away from home now. And that belief stems from the excellent form shown by Lionel Messi in the last couple of matches.

Dec 11, 2013

When Group H schedule was first announced, I was dead sure that this match would be nothing more than a practice game for Barca and crunch game for Celtic. How wrong I was? Tonight when we host Celtic at the Camp Nou, Celtic got nothing to lose, they are already out of the Group and their away supporters are banned from attending this match. But FCBarcelona's situation is a bit different. We have already qualified for the Group stage but the defeat against Ajax in Netherlands means we need to secure at least a point from this match to top the Group. If we lose and then Milan win against Ajax then we will be dropping to second position; in contrast an Ajax win should not affect our standing unless they over come the goal difference. A lot of people disagreed when I called out Group as the Group of Death (Barca drawn in to Group of Death) along with Group F. Now it looks like it was, even though it can't rival the drama of Group F.

Contact Form

Name

Email *

Message *

Infolinks

Top Ad 300x250

League Table

Search

Google Plus Hangout

Facebook Badge