Search The Blog

Dec 8, 2009

FIFA has announced the final five nominees for FIFA World Player of the Year. It's a match between FC Barcelona and Real Madrid. FC Barcelona has three players nominated for the prestigous award. Balon d'Or winner Lionel Messi is nominated along with his team mates Xavi Hernandez and Andres Iniesta. The other nominees are Cristiano Ronaldo and Kaka of Real Madrid, bith of them rewarded for their performance with other clubs. Its very surprising to see Kaka's name in the list as he hasn't done anything spectacular in last season. FIFA has earlier announced a list of 23 men from which these five has been shortlisted. The list had Michael Ballack (Germany), Gianluigi Buffon (Italy), Iker Casillas (Spain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Diego (Brazil), Didier Drogba (Côte d'Ivoire), Michael Essien (Ghana), Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon), Steven Gerrard (England), Thierry Henry (France), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden), Andrés Iniesta (Spain), Kaká (Brazil), Frank Lampard (England), Luis Fabiano (Brazil), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Carles Puyol (Spain), Franck Ribéry (France), Wayne Rooney (England), John Terry (England), Fernando Torres (Spain), David Villa (Spain) and Xavi (Spain). Why the likes of Puyol, Terry, Rooney, Eto'o was overlooked in favour of Kaka is a mystery. They all had better season and performances than the Brazilian wizard is a fact that can be clearly seen.

Along with FIFA World Player of the award nominees, FIFA has also announced the final five ladies who will be contesting to win the prestigous FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year award. The nominees are - Cristiane (Brazil), Inka Grings (Germany), Marta (Brazil), Birgit Prinz (Germany) and Kelly Smith (England). It is surprising to see that no US women made the list as that is one of the top team in the world. The awards will be announced on 21st December in Zurich. Along with these two awards FIFA will announce the The FIFA/FIFPro World XI and the The FIFA Puskás Award, presented for the most beautiful goal of last season. The Puskas award is one in which the common public gets a voting right. Iniesta's goal against Chelsea is the only Barca goal which has been listed in the top ten. So get down and vote for Iniesta - Vote for Iniesta's Goal

All About FC Barcelona is a Blog dedicated to the Most prestigous Club in the world, FC Barcelona by an ardent fan. Here I discuss about the Latest happening surrounding our Club and present my Views about the same.

Let's Get Connected: Twitter | Facebook

Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Random Post Script