Search The Blog

Mar 11, 2010

The prestigous Laureus Awards have been announced tonight and it has been quite a surprise that FC Barcelona was overlooked for the Laureus World Team of the Year. Current Formula One Champion team Brawn GP was selected for the prestigous award ahead of Barca. As expected usain Bolt has been elected as the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year. Serena Williams won the Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year award. The Awards were announced in seven categories. The winners were:

Laureus World Sportsman of the Year: Usain Bolt

Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year: Serena Williams

Laureus World Team of the Year: Brawn GP Formula One

Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year: Jenson Button

Laureus World Comeback of the Year: Kim Clijsters

Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Natalie du Toit

Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year: Stephanie Gilmore

It came as quite a surprise for me the decision to award Brawn GP ahead of Barca, no offences met. Brawn GP has won an unbelievable championship, especially when nobody gave them any chance in the start of the season. But that simply don't over-shadow Barca's achivement. Barca won all the possible Trophies available in a season, something quite unprecedented in the history of a game , which is considered as the "King of Game". What Brawn GP has achieved, has been repeated many times in the past, but not Barca's feat. I cannot find a single reason why we were overlooked. Maybe the strong North American presence in the 46 member jury has tilted the vote in Brawn GP's favour. The rest of the Awards went the way we expected.

All About FC Barcelona is a Blog dedicated to the Most prestigous Club in the world, FC Barcelona by an ardent fan. Here I discuss about the Latest happening surrounding our Club and present my Views about the same.

Let's Get Connected: Twitter | Facebook


Post a Comment

Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Random Post Script